There Is No Time As We Know It

 Is there Tme such as we know it

I remember that I was a kid of about four or five, when falling asleep in my bed at night I wondered about time and space for the first time. Such a young age to wonder about so serious things!

I thought – they are both so infinite! But still, I was both fascinated and perplexed when I started to see the material nature of things.

I understood dimensions, measures, ends and beginnings. I was more confused by time.

Space – I thought I had it at least partially figured out. I am here, as a referent point, and everything else starts from there and spreads around. My bed, my room, my house, my town, my country and everything else that spreads around in concentric circles.

At least I knew where I was in reference to everything else. I am here.

But time? Time eluded me. First class starts at 7 a.m. It ends at 1 p.m. The school year starts in September and it ends in June.

I was born in the seventies.

The First War I was from 1914 to 1918.

Dinosaurs lived… Okay, I do not exactly remember when the dinosaurs lived, but I knew it was a very, very long time ago.

But then…

What about before the dinosaurs?

And what about before ‘before dinosaurs’?

And what about before ‘before before dinosaurs’?

When did the first before show up? There should always be a ‘before’ before the last one and an after just after the last after, right?

This put me in an enigma. My little head struggled to make sense of the time I have known about. I just knew that there was something missing to the notion of time that was explained to me by grown-ups.

Psychological Time

At that time, it was just too much for me. That is why I somehow forgot about it and dropped it until many years later the same enigma came about to puzzle me when I started to understand the concept of psychological time.

I don’t take into account the short Einsteinian glimpse into space and time relativity I had at high school. Yet, at that time it brought some newly found satisfaction to my curiosity hungry mind.

But time such as it is…

It started to make the most sense when I learned that it just does not exist. Yes, calendar time does exist. It is an agreed concept. But not time as the past, present and future, or time that moves from something that “was” to something that will “be”.

Time is convenient to make our lives simpler. To organize. To explain change. Humans love to explain change with the concept of time. They like to put activities in nice little slots they call minutes, hours, days, months.

Time passes. Everything changes. It helps us to work, travel and live. It makes us feel powerful. It makes us feel in control. It is much easier if we know that we have taken care of something.

But still, most of the time that humans think of is a psychological concept.

What actually changes is not time, but materia. Or energy. Choose to your liking. Suit yourself. It is us who change. And that is the terrifying concept that makes people choose the concept of time over the concept of energy or materia.

The Real Value of Time

Because, if time does not exist, or, as many spiritual truth tellers like to spell out – ‘The time is always now’ – we become much more responsible with our “time”. We value it strongly.

We understand that time is, and will be, even if we are not anymore. So, the main question is not if there is time? But is us? Are we?

If we start to look at time in this way, our own inner world becomes what matters. Social comparison becomes pointless. We can’t justify slow processes, inaction, and fruitless behavior to time.

“Time will tell.”

“Everything becomes easier in time.”

“Time heals all wounds.”

It is much easier giving so much power to something outside of ourselves.

It is difficult to take full responsibility for what we do to the time. Not what the time does to us.

Do I Know the Value of My Personal Time?

Think of it this way:

Do you know what makes instant gratification worthless on account of future long-term benefit? Or vice-versa?

Do you carry a lot of grief or anger with you?

Do you know how to enjoy in daily activities?

Can you fill your day with slots that look like your ideal life?

Do you choose happiness of what might be over happiness in what is?

Are you grateful for today?

Can you say that you are enough?

Can you feel full in the ‘nowness’?

Can you sense the richness of the well of life within?

Are you satiated?

Do you know that you can shine and vibrate and not only shield and absorb?

Oh, and yes.

No one is perfect. There is only one time-wasting sin I can think of that makes it worthwhile.

Daydreaming.

You are allowed to be a time-sinner. A time-waster. If you choose to do so, daydream.

The culpa is less.

Photo credit: gfpeck / Foter / CC BY-ND

Leave a Reply

